July 24, 2009

Despite my earlier resolve to continue to eat dandelion greens throughout the year in order to determine whether they are in fact less bitter in early spring, I have failed to do so. (And it’s not for want of dandelions in the yard, believe you me). Some things, you have them once a year and that’s quite enough. Sorry, dandelions, but apparently that’s true of you, too, no matter your ample nutritive properties

In jam-making news, I made some blueberry lavender jam. I’d give the recipe, but I don’t think I need to. Just find any old recipe for blueberry  jam (from the pectin recipe insert, for example), and add a sprig or three of lavender to it.Fish out the lavender before jarring it up. There you go.

It’s also the height of peach season, so peaches are next up in line for the canning pot. Think I’m gonna try peach cardamom this year.  I picked up a Spanish tarragon plant recently– that’s what I have in store for the plums come August. Plum tarragon. I’m not yet sure what I’ll do to the pears.  Maple, maybe. Pear maple. With pecans!  Yes, I think that’s it.

For the first time in many years of buying stuff online, someone has failed to follow through with the product. It makes me sad; I really wanted the stuff I bought! It was a good deal! Now we’ll see how well Paypal’s dispute resolution system works.

Leave a Reply

